Pet Blogger Challenge! My answers

I am taking part in this years ‘Third Annual Pet Blogger Challenge’. This challenge is made by Go Pet Friendly Blog click here to view their blog and click here to go straight to the post where you can take part too! The Pet Blogger Challenge is a list of questions you have to answer about your pet blog. So lets go!

1. When did you begin your blog?

I began my blog on the 7th January 2013 so I’m a newbie!

2. What was your original purpose for starting a blog? 

It was to follow my journey from finding out the mum was pregnant to actually getting the puppy and then following its life with me. So almost like a diary. I also wanted to do hauls of things I had bought for him and reviews on products. Quite varied really!

3. Is your current purpose the same?

Yes because this blog was only started a few days ago and this will be my third post so I haven’t had much time to change my purpose!

4. How often do you post?

Well at the moment I have been posting almost everyday but that may be because its my first week of having this blog or because I am experiencing a lot of doggy things in my life! Anyway my goal was to post at LEAST once a week preferably 2 or 3 times and at the moment I am achieving just that!

5. Do you blog on a schedule or as the spirit moves you? 

A bit of both really. Certainly when I get my puppy it will be both for sure! I will have a schedule of when I have to post certain things and then maybe something funny will happen or I will splash out to buy toys and I will just post! So both.

6. How much time do you spend writing your blog per week? How much time visiting other blogs? Share your tips for staying on top of it all. 

Like I said before this is my first week but at the moment I would say I am spending 4 – 5 hours writing on this blog? I have spent at least 2 hours reading other blogs because I find them very useful and inspirational. Tips for staying on top of it all? Well I would just say schedule your posts. I have read a lot of these challenges and they all seem to say scheduling is the best way too keep organised.

7. How would you measure the success of a post and of your blog in general (comments, shares, traffic)? 

At the moment I would say traffic. The only people that know about my blog are my twitter followers and as I have only just started twitter and I can only post a few times as doggy things don’t really happen without a dog! So there’s only about 11 people who actually know about this blog! But the more traffic I get the more I know it is going OK at the moment!

8. If you could ask the pet blogging community for help with one issue you’re having with your blog, what would it be?

To help me get more readers! I can comment on posts and tweet to my 11 or so followers but I can’t get as many readers as I’d like.

9. What goals do you have for your blog in 2013?

To raise my views and to improve posts and the layout of my blog.

Blog Hop of this challenge

The Blog Hop of this challenge allows you to see every blog who has posted it click the link to view.

12 thoughts on “Pet Blogger Challenge! My answers

  1. Hello and welcome fellow beagle lover! How exciting a new puppy and a new blog…So congrats!
    Don’t worry do what you are doing and readers will come, it takes a little time but write what you love and you’ll find your following.
    Suggestions on how to grow…write for meaning, like your talking to a friend over coffee. Interact with the dog community… dogpaw.com is excellent, tweet, FB, join LinkedIN groups, but most important have fun!
    Blogging is really rewarding and with a beagle puppy on the way…you’re going to have a lot of fun and amazing stories to tell! Totally looking forward to your stories in 2013!
    Trina

    that persom

  2. Welcome to Blogville! LOL Might I suggest as a way to increase your traffic, that you try some blog hops. There are about 20 gazzillion out there. Check out a few. Good luck!

  3. Hello, and welcome!! Wow, a complete newbie … what an exciting journey you have ahead of you!

    to increase your traffic, the best and easiest way is to visit a lot of other blogs. In particularly visit blogs that you like, and that you enjoy reading, because blogging is a two-way street: if you want comments you must LEAVE comments, and it’s all about having fun and interacting with people. Find blogs you like to read, because once people start leaving comments, you’ll be visiting them often!

    Joining a meme or a blog hop that interests you is a great way to start picking up readers.

  4. Welcome to the blogosphere! It’s really exciting to meet someone who is just starting on their journey. I’m sure you will have lots to share. I don’t know if I know the “best” way to grow your blog, but I can tell you how I did it. I started on Twitter – in fact I was on Twitter a full year before I started blogging, so I had a chance to build a following. Then I set up a Facebook page and asked my Twitter followers to “like” my page. Once I started blogging, I shared my blog posts on Facebook. My FB page is connected to Twitter, so it automatically gets posted there too. From there I started adding other social networks – LinkedIn, Google+, and Pinterest. I also use StumbleUpon and ScoopIt to disseminate my posts. However, one of the biggest helps was joining Triberr. Find a pet-related Tribe with people whose blogs you enjoy reading. Ask to join the tribe and they will help share your posts on Twitter. That’s it – Good Luck and Happy Blogging!

  5. Hey there beagle buddy! Welcome to the blogosphere. Good luck with your blog! I found the same problem with getting readers in the beginning. But you’re new and these things take time. The best way to get known is to follow other bloggers and strike up friendships with them. Also, to get followers on twitter, the best thing to do is follow people and tweet them. And tweet, tweet, tweet! Also, try Stumbleupon.com. It is one of my best resources for getting readers! Good luck!

  6. Welcome to the pet blogging community and thanks so much for taking part in the Challenge! It’s always great to meet another pet blogger, and now I have pictures of a beagle puppy to look forward to, so I’m already hooked.

    My advice on traffic is to be patient – building a following takes time. Just write posts that you’re proud of, strike up some friendships with other bloggers, and utilize your social networks to help get your posts out there. Also, don’t automate too much – if you want people to get to know you, you have to show up. Just doing auto-posts to Facebook and Twitter isn’t enough to engage your audience. Taking a minute to write a bit of an introduction to your post will definitely get you more click-thrus.

    Have a great time, and I’ll be looking forward to following your adventures in 2013.

  7. merhaba bende Trafik Benim tavsiyem sabırlı olmaktır – bir aşağıdaki inşa zaman alır. Sadece, diğer blogcular ile bazı dostluklar kurmak ve Mesajınızı oraya yardım etmek için sosyal ağları kullanan gurur duyuyoruz mesaj yazmak. Ayrıca, çok fazla otomatikleştirmek yok – insanların sizi tanımak istiyorsanız, size göstermek zorundayız. Sadece Facebook ve Twitter için otomatik ileti yapıyor kitlenizi meşgul için yeterli değildir. Yazınızı bir giriş bir parça yazmak için bir dakika almak kesinlikle daha fazla tıklama-kutucuğu alacak.

Leave a Reply

